← Back to comparator

Openbank

OPEN BANK S.A. · Spain
Key points
Official sourceUnclaimedMiCA-licensed · Spain

01Overview

The company

Headquarters
🇪🇺 Spain
Founding date
1995
Team size
250-4999

Regulation

Regulatory licences
MiCA licence, notified on 24/07/2025
Licensing authority
Comisión Nacional del Mercado de Valores (CNMV)
Registered services
not disclosed in the register
Register consulted

Openbank is the Santander group's digital bank and offers a multi-asset investment experience directly integrated into its app. Alongside shares, ETFs and funds, certain clients can buy and hold a selection of crypto-assets and set up scheduled purchases. The service is aimed at users who want to manage their traditional savings and crypto exposure from a single bank, without going through a specialised exchange.

02Services & Accessibility

Concrete product features, distinct from the legal scope of the licence (block 01).

Simple purchase (Simple-Buy)Integrated walletStakingCrypto cardP2P marketFuturesOptionsMargin tradingFrench-language supportInstant verification (KYC)

Available cryptos: 7

See the list

Detailed list of cryptos available for purchase: coming soon.

Accessibility

As a broker, Openbank suits some use cases more than others.

Minimum deposit: not disclosedMobile appNo withdrawal to personal walletAutomatic DCADedicated pro interface: not disclosed

Mandatory custody: no withdrawal to a personal wallet.

Available in Spain, Germany.

03How much it costs

Deposit
SEPA transfer0 %
Trading
1,49 %
published spread
Recurring buy (DCA)1,49 %
Holding

No known holding fees

Exit
Crypto withdrawal (platform margin)≈ 0 € + 4 %

Blockchain network fees always excluded (identical for everyone, not set by the platform).

Openbank: purchase/sale of all available cryptos at 1,49 % of the transaction value, with a minimum commission of 1 € per transaction. Automatic contributions are crypto purchases and bear the same pricing. Custody: 0 %. Transfer to another custodian: 4 % of the EUR equivalent transferred; free withdrawal to a self-custody wallet is not documented.

Fee source: https://www.openbank.es/en/investments/cryptocurrencies · verified on 26/08/2026
Simulate your own scenario (amount, duration, purchase method) with the fee simulator. Simulate your case →

04Security & custody

In-house custody, no custody fee charged. Crypto positions shown in the same dashboard as shares/ETFs/funds.

05What to know before you start

Multi-product banking + crypto account. 7 visible assets: BTC, ETH, LTC, POL, ADA, SOL and DOT. Configurable DCA/regular contributions (weekly to annual), cold wallet custody, 1,49 % per purchase/sale and no custody fee. Cryptos are offered as an investment, not as a means of payment.

Compensation transparency: affiliate partnership with Openbank: À l'étude. A partnership has no influence on ranking or the default sort order (see Methodology).

06Frequently asked questions

Is Openbank licensed under MiCA?

Yes. OPEN BANK S.A. is licensed as a crypto-asset service provider (CASP) under the MiCA regulation. Competent authority: Comisión Nacional del Mercado de Valores (CNMV), Spain. Notification to the ESMA register: 24/07/2025. A MiCA licence works as a passport: it allows the provider to operate across the entire European Union.

How much does it cost to buy bitcoin on Openbank?

For €100 of bitcoin bought by SEPA transfer, the total cost is 1,49 €, spread included and network fees excluded (Uncrypt €100 index). Fees checked on 26/08/2026 against the official fee schedule.

How many cryptos can you buy on Openbank?

7 crypto-assets are available on Openbank.

Can you withdraw your crypto from Openbank to your own wallet?

No, Openbank does not let you withdraw your crypto-assets to a personal wallet: they remain held by the platform.

Can you stake crypto on Openbank?

No, Openbank does not offer staking.

Can you schedule recurring purchases (DCA) on Openbank?

Yes, Openbank lets you schedule recurring purchases (DCA).