← Back to comparator

Gate

Gate Technology Limited · Malta
Key points
Official sourceUnclaimedMiCA-licensed · Malta

01Overview

The company

Headquarters
🇲🇹 Malta
Founding date
2013
Team size
250-4999
Number of customers
≈ 53 000 000
Trustpilot

Regulation

Regulatory licences
MiCA licence, notified on 29/09/2025
Licensing authority
Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA)
Registered services
  • Custody
  • Trading platform operation
  • Order execution
  • Transfer of crypto-assets
  • Crypto/crypto exchange
  • Crypto/fiat exchange
Register consulted
Consult the register → · verified on 23/08/2026

Gate Europe is the regulated European entity of the Gate group, operated from Malta for EEA clients. The platform offers spot trading, conversion, an internal wallet, external withdrawals, staking and a crypto card for eligible users. It also caters to businesses and institutions via OTC services, API and professional trading solutions, while remaining separate from Gate's global offer.

02Services & Accessibility

Concrete product features, distinct from the legal scope of the licence (block 01).

Simple purchase (Simple-Buy)Integrated walletStakingCrypto cardP2P marketFuturesOptionsMargin tradingFrench-language supportInstant verification (KYC)

Available cryptos: not disclosed

See the list

Detailed list of cryptos available for purchase: coming soon.

Accessibility

As a marketplace (order book), Gate suits some use cases more than others.

Minimum deposit: not disclosedMobile appWithdrawal to personal wallet possibleAutomatic DCADedicated pro interface: not disclosed

Withdrawal to a personal wallet possible.

Available in Germany, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Czechia.

03How much it costs

Deposit
SEPA transfer0 %
Trading
Maker
0,1 %
Taker
0,1 %
order book
Holding

No known holding fees

Exit

not disclosed

Blockchain network fees always excluded (identical for everyone, not set by the platform).

Gate Europe spot: maker/taker schedule. VIP0: 0,10 % maker / 0,10 % taker. Rates decrease with VIP level down to 0 % maker / 0,02 % taker at VIP16. The temporary campaign of zero-fee spot trading and SEPA deposits ended on 6 August 2026 and is not used as the current rate. Fiat fees depend on the payment rail and are displayed in the interface; crypto withdrawals depend on asset/network.

Fee source: https://www.gate.com/en-eu/fee · verified on 26/08/2026
Simulate your own scenario (amount, duration, purchase method) with the fee simulator. Simulate your case →

04Security & custody

Gate Technology Ltd directly provides MiCA custody. Client assets are legally separated from the company's own assets, off balance sheet and protected from creditors; users retain their ownership rights. Hot/cold wallet architecture, multi-signature for large withdrawals, regular reconciliation; Gate states that it does not appoint a crypto sub-custodian.

05What to know before you start

EU structure separate from Gate global. Gate Europe offers Spot, Convert, OTC, staking (explicitly outside the MiCA scope), Institutional/API and Gate Card. Gate Card EU is reserved for eligible EEA users and lets them spend BTC/ETH/USDC depending on the card type. Official Proof of Reserves available; the EU page allows balance verification, but PoR publications may aggregate the Gate group.

Compensation transparency: affiliate partnership with Gate: À l'étude. A partnership has no influence on ranking or the default sort order (see Methodology).

06Frequently asked questions

Is Gate licensed under MiCA?

Yes. Gate Technology Limited is licensed as a crypto-asset service provider (CASP) under the MiCA regulation. Competent authority: Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA), Malta. Notification to the ESMA register: 29/09/2025. A MiCA licence works as a passport: it allows the provider to operate across the entire European Union.

How much does it cost to buy bitcoin on Gate?

For €100 of bitcoin bought by SEPA transfer, the total cost is 0,1 €, spread included and network fees excluded (Uncrypt €100 index). Fees checked on 26/08/2026 against the official fee schedule.

Can you withdraw your crypto from Gate to your own wallet?

Yes, Gate lets you withdraw your crypto-assets to a personal wallet.

Can you stake crypto on Gate?

Yes, Gate offers staking.

Can you schedule recurring purchases (DCA) on Gate?

No, Gate does not offer scheduled recurring purchases (DCA).